Recipes

Southern Pecan Pie

southernpecanpie.png

There are many ways to make this round little piece of heaven but my mother & I have finally found a way we like it best. I cook with my mom a lot, we make a great team, or at least I think so. Lol Pecan Pie is hands down one of my favorite desserts, most people view it as a fall/winter dessert but this girl can take a good slice of pecan pie all year round.  Now onto the most debated subject of this pie, the pronunciation of the main ingredient, the wonderful Pecan. Some people swear its called a puh-KAHN, mostly people from Northern/Western areas. Where as others say its called a PEE-can, usually that’s more of a Southern/Eastern thing. As for me, I’m all Southern so its a PEE-can for me & when people like to argue with me about it (which is most of the time my husband who is originally from Arizona) I just tell them we’re the ones who grow the trees here in the South so I think we know what to call them! Usually ends the debate & we can go back to enjoying our pie, I’m pretty sure he likes to harass me about how to say it just to ruffle my feathers a bit, he’s quite the rascal at times. haha Love him regardless. But enough about all that we can move on to the recipe now!

Prep time: 15 minutes – Cook time: 40-55 minutes

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups Corn Syrup (I use half light, half dark corn syrup)

1 cup pure cane sugar

3 eggs

1/4 cup melted butter

1 1/2 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract (pure vanilla really makes the difference taste wise!)

1 1/2 cups chopped Pecans

Approximately 60-65 whole Pecans for top

1 deep dish uncooked pie crust

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, boil corn syrup & sugar together for about 2 minutes, take off stove & allow to cool a bit, just until it becomes warm, don’t allow mixture to sit too long or it will harden.

2. Beat eggs, then slowly add in cooked syrup mixture, stirring constantly until combined.

3. Soften butter in microwave, stir in butter, vanilla extract & chopped pecans into eggs/syrup mixture. Pour into uncooked pie crust & add whole pecans on the top in circular pattern or whatever pattern suites you.

4. Bake for 40-55 minutes or until set, on the middle rack, depending on how your oven cooks you could need more or less time. My oven cooked it for 40 minutes & that was sufficient. Transfer to cooling rack, then enjoy!

IMG_2545.jpgIMG_2559.jpg

We had a little bit of filling left over so we poured it into a small baking dish for a friend of ours that cannot have pie crust, it certainly won’t be the same without the crust but at least she will be able to have “almost pecan pie” LOL

We had a lot of fun with this recipe and have found that the whole family loves it so it’s definitely a keeper for us, we have some in our house that think they are professional food critics, so to please everyone under our roof is a great feat to accomplish!  We made this last night for our Christmas eve dinner & it was a hit, so I’m just now finishing up this post on Christmas day…but anyway thanks for stopping by, I hope everyone enjoys this and has a very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

